Have an Inspiring Week

It is Friday July 26 and I woke up at 6:30 this morning to write this blog. My past week was one of my most inspiring ones thus far in my life, and I want to share the highlights with you.

On Tuesday night I was talking to one of my friends about my dreams and what I want to do with my life, and into the conversation she asked me a simple but profound question. One that I know many people ask themselves daily: “How can I find my passion, how do I find what I really wanted to do with the rest of my life?”

At any other point in my life I may have been unable to provide a sensible response, but my experiences over the last few months had prepared me for this one question.

Surely there is no one way to find your life’s passion. Some people stumble upon it, other go out searching and find it and for others go through situations that change their lives and set them on a purposeful path. I knew my answer wasn’t the only one but believe every word I said to her.

I paused for a minute, gathering my thoughts for my friend who so desperately wanted to find her purpose in life. Then I gave her the best advice I could.

My Advice

I told her that to find her passion in life you should start with the things you like to do, then look at what you are good at and find something that fits into both categories and do more of it everyday. If you like it continue, if not repeat the process. If you still come up blank after doing this several times, just keep exploring and experiencing life because you may not be ready for your life’s work as yet.

Life is a journey

Sometimes we forget that life is about the journey and not the destination. We see other people younger than us doing great things and living their dreams and we get caught in self-pity and disappointment. I was once guilty of this. At 22 I had no real, clear vision for my life, I had no real definition of my own success, sure I wanted to be wealthy and all that but wealth is not the only form of success and by no means is it the greatest symbol of true success.

Amazingly enough, a few years later I am filled with a burning passion to accomplish great things in my chosen field. I have a vision, purposes and passion for life, and I found them all in the last six months. Everything that happened before that was just a warm up exercise for the real challenges of life and I am grateful for every experience.

So do not be discouraged if you do not know your calling as yet, keep living, keep experiencing different things and keep learning, life is still preparing your for your destiny.

A true story; I was doing a video shoot for a client this week and after we finished we had a very inspiring discussion. This man in his late 20’s who is the managing director of a company was telling me that he had just discovered his life’s passion. I stood in awe as he spoke with such fire and passion about what he wanted to do with the rest of his life and how he was going to turn his passion into a business and touch people all over the Caribbean. And as I stood there listening I felt a sense of joy because the way he spoke about his passion is the way I speak about mine.

The second impactful thing that happened to me this week was even more touching

One night this week someone sent me a message over Facebook to tell me they love my work and that I inspired them to buy their camera. We proceeded to ask me about a few technical details and I gave as much advice as I could. This encounter meant a lot to me and I want to thank that person for their kind words. Believe me, as much as I inspire you, you have inspired me.

Your words inspire me to keep going, to continue to be a positive example for others, to share all that I know so that others may follow my path or create a new one for themselves. I woke up at 6:30 this morning to say thank you. Let’s continue to inspire each other.

And for those looking for their passion and purpose in life let me share a few videos that inspired me this week from Ted Talks:

 

Go for it, sometimes we have to forget about the odds and just go for what we want.

 

 

Be honest with yourself and others, honesty can lead you to some interesting places and harsh discoveries about yourself. This can also lead you to a purposeful life.

 

 

And finally, surround yourself with positivity. This one I can personally attest to. In the last 6 months of my life I have been with some of the most positive, ambitions free thinkers on this planet and my life has changed tremendously because of it. Thank you guys

 

Kishmar Shepherd
@DaDirectorsCut

One thought on “Have an Inspiring Week

Leave a Reply

